Discussion Board 6-21-2021

Read an interesting article about the impact of deficit spending and and the Fed’s efforts to hold down interest rates. While I firmly believe that both efforts were necessary and probably single handedly helped us avoid an economic depression in 2020, make no mistake these policies clearly benefit the wealthy over the poor.

“QE inflates assets and commodity prices. The rich benefit from the first, and the poor are hurt by the second. The same applies to most government spending programs. The rich employ accountants and lawyers, and find ways to benefit from changes in the law, and lobby for exceptions to policies that seem to favor “soak the rich.”

Here is the full post: https://alephblog.com/2021/06/18/estimating-future-stock-returns-march-2021-update/

So current efforts to address just some of the wealth inequality in our country like higher minimum wages, access to affordable quality child care, health care and education, forgiveness of student loan debt as well as fair taxation of the wealthy, are all really just small things that we can do to try to tip the scales, just a little, to make our country a fairer and more just place to live.

Markets are toppy and the Fed is now talking about, talking about, pulling the interest rate rug out from under us. Soooo, what to do now?

Seems like the markets may have at least one more push up but I really really don’t want to be the one holding the growth stock bag when this turns. I’m staying away from the 60+ times earnings of the FANG and other tech names. If I do take a position in these areas I almost always sell some protective calls and I keep my investment time horizon short.

Most of my investing money is in various retirement plans so taxes are really not a concern and this does give me some flexibility and advantage as I can move in and out of names rapidly if I think the story is becoming less favorable. In addition, Fidelity’s “no commision” trading doesn’t penalize me for frequent versus lower turnover trading. (FYI – my other brokerage, “IB” also purportedly have no commissions, but they sell their order flow to 3rd parties and I have definitely noticed that my fills in FIdelity are far more favorable than in IB. Accordingly, I’m fairly certain that frequent trading in IB is a more expensive proposition than Fidelity. Regardless, I keep my IB account because they are more liberal in the tyes of securities that I’m allowed to trade (for example I can trade AUS warrants at IB but not Fidelity).

So for Monday? Darren points out that ACRE fell 12% last Friday alone. I owned it but sold about a week ago for a nice gain when its RSI went over 70. Now that its fallen back, I’m looking to reopen a new position. Also looking to add to UNIT, an infrastructure financing play. Finally going to probably double my AUS SPAC investment if we drop below $9.90. It closed at 9.92 on Friday.

I have a ton of cash right now. Just not seeing a lot of attractive buys?

Board is open.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Discussion Board 6-21-2021

  1. jeff0123 says:

    Surprised to see futures up nicely this am.

    I just think a correction of 10 to 20% before YE is inevitable. I may use this pop to start going a little short?? with some QQQ or S&P short puts?

    Like

  2. jeff0123 says:

    Marshall, Mr. Insurance!. Chris D seems to love AON on its proposed acquisition of Willis. What do you think?

    Like

    • marshgerda says:

      Jeff – I don’t follow the stock of the large insurance brokerage houses very closely. But it is really an oligopoly, with Willis, MMC and AON. The market has really been consolidated. Insurers hate dealing with them as there are many insurers and very few large brokerages (and if Aon/Willis goes through there will be fewer). So the brokerages have a lot of pricing power over the insurers and can demand higher commissions and profit-sharing deals. It got a bit scummy in 2004-05 as Elliott Spitzer did an expose and showed that the brokers weren’t disclosing to their clients ALL fees they were getting from insurers.

      So I agree with Chris Aon/MMC is kind of like Visa/Mastercard – only a couple games in town and people are beholden to them. At some point you think the middle man (the brokerage) would be “disrupted”, but large commercial insurance and reinsurance deals are pretty complex and Aon/MMC do bring value to the equation.

      Like

  3. jeff0123 says:

    JPM below 30 RSI. I may start a position.

    Like

  4. jeff0123 says:

    Doubled my small ACRE position.

    Like

  5. marshgerda says:

    APVO is trading down 15% today to $23.20. It may be an opportunity for those willing to take a chance. This is the company that had a $50 buyout offer from Tang since last November. Today, Tang has withdrawn that offer, which is reason stock is down. But if you the letter, i view it as a positive

    “”we very much appreciate your decision to add to APVO’s proxy statement Tang’s proposal seeking shareholder approval to commence a process to sell APVO to the highest bidder. In light of this decision, we hereby withdraw our nomination of Thomas Wei and myself as directors for the 2021 annual meeting. Additionally, since the company is unwilling to enter into a confidentiality agreement without a standstill provision, we hereby withdraw our acquisition proposal.”

    My read is that APVO is putting the company up for sale. They are unwilling to just allow Tang insight (under the kimono as they say) and are opening to all bidders. That should be viewed bad for Tang, but good for APVO shareholders (which Tang is as well). So the company likely will now be put for sale to highest bidder and the big unknown is how much are they worth? Tang thought $50. But a lot more information has come to light since then.

    Like

    • jeff0123 says:

      Marshall, thanks for your comments on APVO. It does look like a nice opportunity. I may open a position AH or first thing tomorrow. We’ll see where it goes.

      Like

      • marshgerda says:

        Jeff – a couple further comments on APVO. I asked Chris Demuth what he thought and he agreed with me and had bought shares yesterday on the drop. But I also traded thoughts with a guy on Twitter. He says Tang is a total fraud and APVO management and Tang are participating in a joint pump and dump scheme. I didn’t quite understand his logic how Tang buys 40% of company (with low liquidity) at increasing prices and has any sort of exit strategy if it is a pump.

        Like

  6. marshgerda says:

    solid day after a few shaky ones last week. Up 1.6% and close to breakeven for June.

    Like

  7. jeff0123 says:

    Didn’t beat all the IS indexes but ended up 94 bps. Solid day.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.