Discussion Board 6-18-2021

Commodity and Inflation plays just got killed yesterday becuz the Fed moved a couple dots signaling a slight hawkish interest rate move????

Darren, my new personal hero, responded by adding to AROC, EGY and PEYUF, which are some of his commodity plays.

Personally, I started a new position in EGY yesterday and I may add today. AROC? I already have plenty but might sell some close in time put spreads. I’d also like to see PEYUF fall a little further before I reopen a new position.

One industry that has been killing it is SOLAR!. I plan to add today. Maybe SEDG or SUnrun with covered calls of course.

Board is open

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Discussion Board 6-18-2021

  1. marshgerda says:

    Darren is very savvy. I did see that FATBP is down 12% pre-market. They had an offering at just $20. I don’t really care as this is a name I plan to hold for years (not a big position and simply part of a preferred basket to provide me with income). But I’m surprised they couldn’t raise $ at a lower interest rate.

    Like

    • jeff0123 says:

      I did see the new FATBP offering. Luckily I got out of FATBP in May and June with a nice 11% gain (40% annualized). My last sale was for $24.45. I put a bid in at $20 which is the new offering price.

      Like

      • jeff0123 says:

        FATBP got kind of close around opening. Low was $20.70 but bounced up from there. I’ll probably buy again Monday if it stays below $21. 10% yield at that level and some nice upside from there.

        Like

  2. marshgerda says:

    i did read Darren’s comments about the fed statement. I am glad I wasn’t the only one confused by market reaction.

    Like

  3. jeff0123 says:

    Bought some AMC 2025 bonds per Darren’s recommendation. With rates rising I’m not all that crazy about bonds but I paid just a smidge over $83 so my yield to maturity is just over 11%. With AMC’s cash hoard from its reddit fueled stock offerings it looks like these bonds are pretty safe and I’ll take the 11% yield until 2025.

    Like

  4. jeff0123 says:

    I also opened a position in STW SPAC pick AUS for 9.98. Paid just a little more than I wanted just to open this tracking/starter position.

    Like

    • jeff0123 says:

      STW is “Sifting the World”

      Like

    • jeff0123 says:

      Also looking at AUS warrants. AUS is pre-deal so while I”m guaranteed at least $10 for my shares if the deal doesn’t get done, it’s my understanding that the warrants would just become worthless.

      Like

  5. jeff0123 says:

    Banks have been crushed lately. I think this interest rate hissy fit is overblown so there should be a growing opportunity here. But not yet? I like MS for their changing business model emphasizing wealth management and I have owned profitably in the past

    Like

  6. jeff0123 says:

    All red Pre-market for me. Gonna be an ugly open

    Like

  7. jeff0123 says:

    Added a little to AROC at 8.81

    Like

  8. jeff0123 says:

    Rolled my ENPH June 165 calls to July. for a net credit of 10.82. per call. Like this a lot!

    Like

  9. jeff0123 says:

    ENPH continued up another 2.35% today but got no help from any other names. Down 125 bps. UGH. Not a good week but I think I beat the markets.

    I did manage to start a position in the SPAC AUS and I joined Marshall in a smalll MMACW position which was up 7.14% today on really really light volume.

    Next week has got to be better, Eh?

    Everyone have a great father’s day weekend..

    Like

  10. marshgerda says:

    Jeff – you definitely beat me again. I was down another 190 bps. So pretty crummy week. I’m now down 1.7% for June. Should’ve sold in May and stayed away.

    My only bright spot were my warrants, up again.

    I was pretty busy Friday, so no transactions. Not sure what I would buy, but looking quickly NMM at 26.50 is very cheap as is RGA, now at $112. SBSW has been thumped down to 16.02, but I clearly have enough metals exposure.

    WMPN down 5.7% seems crazy as well.

    My AMBC puts expired yesterday, i banked $10,000. Also my $15 GLNG calls that I sold for a hefty $2.70 (can you believe I got that much!!!) expired. Wish I had sold more!

    Have a great father’s day weekend. We’re going to a resort at Stowe Mountain in Vermont. Should be nice.

    Like

    • jeff0123 says:

      I like WMPN and may add a little next week.

      Congrats on your GLNG calls! That $2.70 was HUGE. I did manage to sell some Jun4 $15 calls for about half my shares but kind of a drop in the bucket at 10 cents. I’m reluctant to go out too far on GLNG calls because I still think that one day, some day, I’ll wake up and GLNG shoots up to $20. Of course I’ve now been waiting close to 2 friggin years! DAMN “G” stocks!!!!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.