Weekly Review & Discussion Board 4-22-2024

Last week my actual results seemed far worse than what I felt during the week. This week was the opposite. I was down a significant amount but not as bad as it felt and,,, I crushed the S&P, Nasdaq and the RUT. Down 1.88% for the week but still up 7.67% for the year. Nonetheless its pretty hard to feel good when April is down 3.7% so far.

Had a little mental hissy fit on Friday and I decided to take some 20% gains in 2 names that were big gainers but had been fading quite a bit over the last couple weeks. I know I’m really really not supposed to do this but I hold them in my Fidelity retirement account so no commissions and not tax impact. I sold all my APP and NMM last Friday generating tons of cash. This week is a huge earnings week and I expect those earnings will drive the direction of markets. Got a ton of cash but I’m not hyperventilating to get it reinvested.

We also have GDP on Thursday and inflation gauge PCE on Friday.

Finally just a couple pics from my bi-annual wardrobe change into my trusty chest waders to slog down the local local section of the Vermillion river to clean out the trash on Saturday. Friggin cold! It was snowing when I arrived and it never got above 32f. Chest waders are a necessity, worn under 2 other layers including my orange neoprene, don’t shoot me, hunting season coat. We do this twice a year and the river is dramatically cleaner than what we first attempted it 10 years ago. #1 enemy is those friggin plastic water bottles and styrofoam packing peanuts. Irritating.

Saw at least a dozen rainbow and brown trout as I walked up the river. I really need to get my fly fishing outfit out to give this a try. Catch and release. Really cool.

Board is open.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Review & Discussion Board 4-22-2024

  1. Jeff says:

    GBDC announced strong quarterly results. Nice beat on the bottom line and declared a continuing 9.29% divi. GBDC and BXSL have been solid performers for me.

    Like

  2. Jeff says:

    JXN up over 3%. I think I know someone who is having a very good day.

    Like

  3. marshgerda says:

    Just up 35 bps. YTRA, FRFHF and EGY drug me down a bit

    Like

  4. Jeff says:

    Nice to have an up day for once. Ended up 86bps.

    FTCO up over 6%, AMPY up over 4% and RMLFF up 2.35% and of course JXN faded a little but was still up 2.84%.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.