Discussion Board 4-25-2023

Recession? that is the question. We are on the cusp of Big Tech earnings from Meta, AMZN, MSFT and GOOG. These earnings can definitely sway the overall markets.

Safe haven? Apparently not the dollar which Darren thinks will be usurped by something else?? What else? Not at all sure. Maybe some kind of asset (oil, gold, silver, uranium) backed currency created basically by all the despotic dictators of the world (China, Russia, Saudi Arabi…. anyone else?? Oh yah North Korea?).

I fully expect that markets will react with emotion and I’m fully aware that they can move bigly just based on emotion. Nonetheless, I call bullshit!

In the next 5 years, China is about to slide into a demographic abyss, Saudi Arabia, hey you really couldn’t hook your wagon to a nicer guy than Mohammed bin Salman, plus can you say global warming?

Russia? shut up!!!. Ukraine is about to win the war with an offensive that will cut off Crimea from Russian supplies and win all of Ukraine’s territory back. Russia is rapidly developing into a strugglin 3rd world country who kills all of its 20 to 50 year old men in a losing war. Ok Ok, they have nucleur weapons. Its a total friggin bluff and if not? we’re all dead anyway.?

I’m perfectly happy to make a trade here and there but my LT $$s are on the democratic western world. If I have confidence? that is my mantra. If I’m wrong?? well, we’re all screwed. So everyone should be pulling for Jeff, damnit!

Board is open

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Discussion Board 4-25-2023

  1. marshgerda says:

    I saw BBBY is liquidating. It shows how stupid investors can be as this stock was actually bid up to $7 in February at the same time anybody with half a brain knew they were going bk. I also saw that SBNY is still trading. Why?

    Like

  2. marshgerda says:

    I have joined a new service on Seeking Alpha, “Concentrated Value With MVI”. It is “new”, so not much history to go on. But as the title suggests they have a very concentrated portfolio (under 10 positions). It is up 30% since they started it last August, so pretty good results (I’m up about 10% in that timeframe).

    Since he has so few picks, you can get a pretty good flavor for the holdings by simply following Michigan Value Investor on seeking alpha. In the service, we clearly get more updated articles and more lead time on new ideas.

    I do think Chris must also follow him to some extent as they both like AAMC and Chris actually has linked the MVI write-ups as a reason to buy AAMC.

    MVI is pretty aggressive is looking for “fat pitches”, their basic yard stick is that it has to be a stock they believe can triple in next 5 years. An interesting historical example he writes about is NXST which he says he bought in 2012 and is up 30x since then.

    HROW, which I have bought and he writes up publicly on SA, does seem pretty interesting/aggressive. It’s probably his biggest winner since starting the group in August as it’s up over 300%. They are funny as they work closely with ophthalmologists and they are rumored to be looking at a major deal. This is funny because guess who else works with ophthalmologists? OCUL! It doesn’t seem crazy to me that the two may collaborate. We’ll see. Hopefully it’ll be a win-win as I own both.

    Like

    • marshgerda says:

      After I wrote that, I have convinced myself that OCUL and HROW will do something together. Which would be better to own? I own a lot more OCUL (a 4% position versus 1.1%).

      I may add to both as I wind down NXDT. I actually have quite a bit of cash with recent STNG sale and steady NXDT sales.

      Like

  3. jeff0123 says:

    A sea of red this am.

    Like

  4. jeff0123 says:

    Took profits on LEGN when RSI went over 70. Same with RETA when it went over 100 today and >70 RSI. Both nice gains.

    DK hit my stop. 10% loss and just a bad idea.

    OCUL is down about 10% in just the last couple days. I should be buying more but its already a 4% position for me.

    I also exited my last bank, WMPN. I bought for potential demutualization or M&A and I just don’t see that happening in the current environment Of course that means they’ll probably announce something tomorrow. I also exited TNK at the open. They had a nice day yesterday and I took advantage to take some gains. Net net, breakeven on thses 2 names.

    EGY continues to struggle.

    Like

  5. jeff0123 says:

    Shitty day. Down 207bps. Damage was pretty widespread

    Like

  6. marshgerda says:

    I was down 2.6%. Just one of those days I guess. I was out all day, so no transactions.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.