Discussion Board 12-1-2020

Not a great day yesterday but holy hockeypucks, November was still a great month for me.

GLNG failed to excite, again, and the promise of the name still lies in the future. Geez I think I’ve been saying that for over 2 years? Anyway I still have high hopes, especially for their HYGO IPO which is still just an aspiration, not a reality. UGH

Something new and impressive:

DeepMind has developed a piece of AI software called “AlphaFold” that can accurately predict the structure that proteins will fold into in a matter of days. Predicting the shape that a protein will fold into is important because it determines their function and nearly all diseases, including cancer and dementia, are related to how proteins function. “DeepMind has jumped ahead,” said Professor John Moult, who is the chair of a group called CASP (Critical Assessment for Structure Prediction).

Alphabet owns “Deepmind”. I smell something significant.

I have NTAP earnings today after the close.

Board is open

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Discussion Board 12-1-2020

  1. jeff0123 says:

    Glad I sold Dec $10 calls against half of my GLNG yesterday. Shares are now under $9. This is to be expected after no new news on the HYGO IPO. Until there is some kind of announcement about going forward with the IPO GLNG is probably reange bound. GLNG management is kind of terrible with shareholder communications and you never know when and if they are going to communicate significant events. I kept half uncovered exactly for that reason. Just in case they suddenly give more specfiics about this highly anticipated IPO.

    Like

  2. jeff0123 says:

    Took a close look at Alphabet. WAAAYYYY to expensive. Deepmind is very interesting but, I’ve got to wait till a pull back. Share value and just the per share price is too high and I don’t want to play with options where 1 option could commit me to a $181,000 buy or sell. No thank you. Wonder what a put spread might cost??

    Like

  3. jeff0123 says:

    NTAP earnings are out. They don’t look all that impressive to me but the shares are up 3.5% AH ($56.23) after an additional increase of 1.5% during the day. All good with me as I have all my shares covered with very profitable Dec $54 calls.

    Like

  4. jeff0123 says:

    Ended the day up 45 basis points. Mostly because of PLUG, GLNG and FSLY. I have not been beating the indexes the last couple days.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.